top of page

第三十六個星期:Just a Chill Weekend

星期三:Today I participated in the Wenzao Easter Concert with the choir. The concert was only for the high school freshmen and they got to skip class and eat snacks, so they were all pretty excited to be there. I sang quite a few songs with the choir for the first half, and, in the second, I sang “How Beautiful” with a quartet and “Pie Jesu” as a duet. It’s been quite a while since I’ve sung anything seriously, and even longer since I’ve actually performed, so getting the chance to do both of those was really fun.

(with the choir at the Easter concert)

星期五:Today Heather and I went over to Mackenzie’s house because her host parents had adopted a new dog the week before and we both wanted to see it. The dog is one of the fattest dogs I’ve seen in quite a while; we tried to take her on a walk for some exercise, but she barely made it out of the house before deciding just to lay down and let us drag her the rest of the way. After that we hung out at her house for a bit before heading over to dinner with a few classmates from Mackenzie and Joey’s class. We had some good Korean food for dinner and I met a few new people, which was fun, though we all ate pretty quickly and headed home.

(Pinky the new dog)

(just some other cute dogs in the park)

星期六:I didn’t do too much during the day, but in the evening I headed out with Becca and Heather to the Ruifeng night market for some after dinner snacks. We first took Heather to try the dry ice ice cream and then got Becca some of the Thai ice cream that is made by freezing the milk and toppings then rolling it into little ice cream rolls. I then had to try some bubble tea toast because I had read a list of things you have to eat at Ruifeng and that was the only one I hadn’t tried yet. It turned out to be a kind of sandwich pocket with a milk tea spread and a ton of boba, which wasn’t terrible but was just really sticky and gooey and the boba kept falling out and sticking to me. We then all got some drinks and I opted for a Korean flavored drink thing that comes in a fake lightbulb for a cup, because why not.

(the kind of weird bubble tea toast)

(hanging out at the night market)

星期天:Today about 20 of us from the Chinese Language Center, plus a few of our teachers, headed to Qishan, a district north of the main city, to visit the house of our Italian classmate and eat some homemade pizza. We stayed for a few hours eating many different kinds of delicious pizza and real salad before Mackenzie, Heather, and I went home, though apparently after I left he pulled out the tiramisu, so I guess we made a bad choice by leaving. When I got back home, my family wanted to hear all about my pizza adventure and then decided that we should all go out for Italian food since pizza sounded so delicious

(delicious Italian food)

(cute polaroid pics from Mackenzie's camera)

(everyone enjoying the pizza)


bottom of page